Summer Educational Enrichment in Math

aTm Math aTm Math

SEE-Math 2022

Department of Mathematics
Texas A&M University

July 11 -- July 22, 2022
1 PM - 5 PM, Central Time

After 2 years on Zoom we are back in person!

Eligibility:

Proof of Math Ability:

Students are expected to complete one of the following:

Application Deadlines:

We will start accepting applications on Monday, April 4, 2022 and continue while space is available.

Registration Fee:

A $100 registration fee will be collected AFTER acceptance.
The registration fee will be waived or reduced for those who cannot afford it.



Applications:

Stellated Icosahedron Watch Out for that Last Step

Letter to Students
Student Application
https://forms.gle/KDZvTX5ubdaxD38QA

Letter to Teachers
Teacher Recommendation
https://forms.gle/5qm1unbBB6YMMGHq9


Counselors:

We also need Junior and Senior Counselors. Junior Counselors are age 15-17. Senior Counselors must be 18 or over as of July 1, 2022.
We frequently have Counselors who are former participants.

Responsibilities: Counselors do set-up and clean-up, check-in and check-out, guide students from activity to activity, and work with the students on each activity under the direction of the instructor. Senior Counselors will need to have a Background Check and complete Child Protection Training.

Junior Counselor Application
https://forms.gle/z5KFumFCtmCFrRgv9

Senior Counselor Application
https://forms.gle/SWsmvqTB9QtJwX3WA


Instructors:

Instructors must register here. Instructors will need to have a Background Check and complete Child Protection Training.

Instructor Registration
https://forms.gle/FpWJErizHZJahEP79


Typical Topics
Pythagorean Proof  Pythagorean Formula

Make a Movie with Maple
Maplesoft has offered to give each student a free copy of the
Maple Computer Algebra system
for two months surrounding the dates of SEE-Math.
After that there will be a discount price to purchase Maple.

Open House and Awards Ceremony
Friday, July 22, 2022
Parents and Siblings Welcome

2021 (Last Year)
Guest Speaker: Dr. Dave Auckly

Department of Mathematics, Kansas State University

Topic: How Dangerous is the Spider?

Abstract: A Spider hunts a fly on a grid.
In this session we will use some interesting geometry
to discover the proportion of dangerous squares for the fly.


  Administrative Contacts:  
Jeremy Kubiak   jeremykubiak@tamu.edu   (979) 845 6905
Donna Hoffman   donna@math.tamu.edu   (979) 862-4306
  Program Directors:  
Philip B. Yasskin  yasskin@tamu.edu  (979) 574-1697
David Manuel  dmanuel@tamu.edu   

2021 Teaching Faculty:
Patricia Alonso Ruiz  paruiz@math.tamu.edu
David Auckly  dav@ksu.edu
Matthew Barry  mbarry@tamu.edu
Dean Baskin  dbaskin@math.tamu.edu
Joshua Goldstein  jgoldstein345@tamu.edu
Chun-Hung Liu  chliu@math.tamu.edu
Bret Lockhart  blockhart@tamu.edu
Jonas Luhrmann  luhrmann@math.tamu.edu   
Pablo Ocal  pso@math.tamu.edu
Sinjini Sengupta  ssinjini@math.tamu.edu
Jeanette Shakalli  info@fundapromat.org
Carl Van Huyck  cvanhuyck@gmail.com

Senior Counselors:         Junior Counselors:
Jonathan Aberle Siddh Bamb
Maryam Almaskin Debkonya Banerjee
Ria Anand Devkumar (Krishno) Banerjee
Cristian Andrei Nicholas (Klaus) Beasley
Matthew Atanas Karthik Bhagavatula
Junyan Chen Christian Bonasera
Elizabeth Compean Yaneth Dharmasena
Allison Dennis Helena duPlessis
Brittany Dunn Ariana Gonzalez
Luke Hoffman Jinu Han
Sabrina Jackson Ian Howey
Meichun Jia Rei Iwahara
Kyle Johnson Helen Jiang
Logan Knudsen Anastasia Loiko
Lin Qiu Eshan Manchanda
Jack Spraberry Dominic Motekaitis
Neha Sujith Victoria Nguyen
Shivangi Tiwari Adrija Rukmini
Carl Van Huyck Sanni Saari
Bryan Yan Leo Solitare-Renaldo
  Molly Sullivan
  Scott Whitman
  Leo Yang
  Melinda Yao

Maplesoft
We would like to thank Maplesoft for their support over the years.

© Philip B. Yasskin, 2002-22.
Last updated March 13, 2022